The Heart of Thomas (manga)

The Heart of Thomas by Hagio Moto (1974)
3 Volumes (Complete)
Reading Status: Finished

Summary from Manga Updates:
The setting: A boys’ boarding school in Germany, sometime in the latter 20th Century. Fourteen year-old Thomas Werner falls from a lonely pedestrian overpass to his death immediately after sending a single, brief letter to a schoolmate:

To Juli, one last time
This is my love
This is the sound of my heart
Surely you must understand


Read it here on MangaDex


Warnings: Suicide, spiritual and physical abuse

Story: ★★★★★

The story was incredibly touching and lingered in my mind for a long time after I finished it. The manga shows a snapshot of fragile youth, one that is melancholic and idyllic. The characters yearn for each other desperately while battling their own inner turmoils. This manga etched itself into my heart as soon as I flipped the first page.

Art: ★★★★★

This was the one that made me fall in love with the vintage shoujo style. The line work is soft and whimsical, and the artful use of black and white creates a light chiaroscuro effect, but what draws my attention most are the crystalline eyes.

Angst: ★★★★☆

Emotional pains and traumas swirl and create a subtle plot that tangles the main cast up in a web. The drama is somewhat melodramatic, but that’s alway been a highlight of shoujo. The tragedies made my heart twist and tears bubble up.

Fluff: ★☆☆☆☆

The soft moments are especially dear to me because there are few scenes that can traditionally be called “fluffy”, and although I would’ve liked to see more cute moments between the main two, it was not intended to be that kind of story.

Spice: ☆☆☆☆☆

This is an agape romance with zero eros.

Recommended for: People who want to read a vintage, coming-of-age shounen-ai that is bitter-sweet.

Leave a comment